Aoi’s Passion – Kirakira☆Precure A La Mode Episode 27

Summary: Due to a miracle, or rather the breaking up of a band, Aoi’s band, Wild Azur is performing in the Blue Rock Fest. This is like a dream come true for Aoi whose favorite band Ganache will also be performing. Despite all the hype for their performance it turns out that Wild Azur is going straight up against Ganache as they both perform at the same time.

Aoi tries her best but when the crowd is small and filled with just the regulars, Aoi is filled with envy. This is the moment that Elissio uses to attack. Using Aoi’s envy Elissio turns Aoi evil and uses her to attack the Blue Rock Fest. Will the other girls be able to snap Aoi out of the evil trance? Will Aoi be able to gain her confidence and love of music back or fall to the darkness?

kk27-1Review:

Kirakira is finally doing the character episodes I’ve wanted all along. The type where the girls must face themselves and become better and stronger for it. A couple episodes ago we watched Yukari face her own weakness in the form of loneliness and Akira face her need to protect those around her.

This week we get to watch Aoi and her band go up against a common enemy of the real world: jealousy. When Wild Azur is put directly up against the extremely popular Ganache, they lose and the band’s morale suffers for it. Even though they know Ganache is likely to win, Wild Azur still wants to be heard. Aoi still wants to sing for a crowd and feel welcome to share her passion.

The inclusion of Elissio turning her ‘evil,’ despite lasting all of five seconds, really captured Aoi’s ability to turn envy into passion and further her music career. I was thoroughly impressed for the second time by Kirakira which had so recently been failing me in the emotion category.

kk27Don’t get me wrong, I think Kirakira is plenty enjoyable but until recently we’ve lacked a lot of depth with the series. Julio & Ciel’s story really brought the emotional impact in and they’ve managed to carry it well with these character episodes.

I do wonder what the transforming ball things are though. Ciel’s changed shape and now so has Aoi’s but despite glowing, Yukari’s and Akira’s are still in the ball shape and not the crystal animal cups that the other two have. Hopefully this means more time for those two but for now we get an episode dedicated to Himari, who desperately needs it. Her earlier episode featuring the town filming and her nervousness just didn’t do it for me so I’m quite hopeful that the episode focusing on the science of sweets will be better.


Speaking of PreCure, I’ve had DokiDoki done for a bit now but I’ve been failing at finding time to write my review. But time is running out until the new Glitter Force drops and I’m going to release my review before that so I guess I have to kick it into high gear.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑